Ya Flamin’ Galah!!!

Hickinbottom’s Aussie Ramblings

Hospital/Ears Special!!

Posted by captainbeaky on October 25, 2007

dog_with_huge_ears.jpg

Well, I’ll cut to the chase before I go into detail – MY EARS WORK!!!!!!! WOoOoOoO HoOoOoOo!!!! 

Got into hospital on time and got undressed/dressed into lovely arse-hanging-out-the-back gown and dressing gown. Filled out a load of forms and then listened to my ipod for a bit. Called me through to the bed, then wheeled me down to the theatre (forgot how fun this was!). Got into theatre and they anaesthetised me (needle in back of hand). Next thing I knew, I woke up in the recovery room and could hear! Was a bit crackly and poppy at first, but thats cos there was still some residual waterey discharge, which I mopped up . The most painful part was when they ripped off the tape on the back of my hand that was keeping the needley thing in! Ouch! 

It feels really strange. My right ear (the good one) is a bit sore but nothing to write home about. My left ear is perfect, so odds are I had some degree of hearing loss BEFORE this problem. Maybe through years of gigs/clubs and walkman/ipod listening, so in actual terms Im back to “normal.  Its odd now – my brain had got used to my left ear being crap and my right ear being good. Now it seems like my left ear is bionic and my right ear is normal. Will probably take me a  couple of days to adjust, but the important thing is I CAN HEAR!!!!

Will pack up the last of our thigns a bit later then do a bit of cleaning. Moving at 10am tomorrow so will give us time to get things sorted during the rest of the day.  All in prefect 2 ear style action!!!

Leave a Reply

 
